X Код для використання на сайті:
Ширина px

Скопіюйте цей код і вставте його на свій сайт

X Для завантаження презентації, скористайтесь соціальною кнопкою для рекомендації сервісу SvitPPT Завантажити собі цю презентацію

Презентація на тему:
English language countries

Завантажити презентацію

English language countries

Завантажити презентацію

Презентація по слайдам:

Слайд 1

English language countries Cultural guide

Слайд 2

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland The United Kingdom is situated near the north-west coast of Europe between the Atlantic Ocean to the north and north-west and the North Sea to the east. The U. K. includes Great Britain and Northern Ireland/ Great Britain contains England, Scotland and Wales. The capital of the country is London. English is the official language. The population of the U.K. is nearly 60 million. The population lives mostly in towns and cities and their suburbs. The British nation consists of the English, the Scots, the Welsh and the Irish. There are many people of all colors and races in the United Kingdom. The largest cities in the country are London, Birmingham, Cardiff, Manchester, Glasgow and Belfast.

Слайд 3

Geography, culture and policy of Great Britain. The climate of Great Britain is mild. It is not too hot in summer or too cold in winter. It often rains in England. The surface of England and Ireland is flat but Scotland and Wales are mountainous. There are many rivers in Great Britain. The main river is Thames. The longest river is the Severn. It is 350 kilometers long. There are many universities, colleges, libraries, museums and theatres in the country. The most famous universities are Cambridge University and Oxford University. The U.K. is a parliamentary monarchy. The British Parliament consists of two Houses: the House of Lords and the House of Commons. The Prime Minister is the head of the government. The United Kingdom has various mineral resources. Coal and oil are most important of them. The United Kingdom is one of the world’s most industrialized countries. Agriculture is an important sector in the economy of the country. The British grow wheat, fruit, vegetables and oats.

Слайд 4

The United States of America The USA is one of the largest countries in the world. It is situated in the central part of the North American continent. The area of the USA is over nine million square kilometers. Its oceans are the Pacific Ocean and the Atlantic. The population of the United States is nearly 250 million people. Most of people live in towns. People of different nationalities live in the USA. There are a lot of rich people in the USA but the life of many colored people is very difficult. The official language of the country is English. The capital of the country is Washington. It was named in honor of the first President, George Washington. There are many big cities in the country. They are Washington, New York, Boston, Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Detroit and Hollywood.

Слайд 5

Geography, culture and policy in the USA. As the USA is large country, the climate is different in different regions. The Pacific coast is a region of mild winters and warm, dry summers but the eastern continental region has a rainy climate. The region around the Great Lakes has changeable weather. The country’s main river is the Mississippi but there are many other great rivers in the USA: the Colorado in the south and the Columbia in the north-west. There are five Great lakes between the USA and Canada. The USA produces more than 52 per cent of the world’s corn, wheat, cotton and tobacco. It is a highly developed industrial country. The USA is rich in mineral resources, such as aluminum, salt, zinc, coppers, coal, natural gas, gold, silver. American agriculture produces a lot of food products: grain, fruit and vegetables. The USA is a federal republic, consisting of fifty states. Congress is the American parliament which consists of two Chambers. The president is the head of the state and the government. He is elected for four years. There are two main political parties in the USA. They are the Democratic Party and The Republican Party.

Слайд 6

New Zealand New Zealand is a n independent state. It has got a total area of 269,000 square kilometers. It is situated to the south-east of Australia. Nearly 3.5 million people live in the country. The capital of New Zealand is Wellington. It has been the capital since 1865. The official language is English. There are several big cities such as Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Dunedin and Nelson. Auckland, Dunedin and Wellington are the country’s main ports. New Zealand is a very interesting and beautiful country.

Слайд 7

Geography, culture and policy of New Zealand. The climate of New Zealand is wet. There are many mountains in New Zealand. The highest is Mount Cook. There are many rivers and lakes in the country. The chief rivers are the Waikato and the Wairu. One of the country’s native animals is the kiwi. Kiwia cannot fly. The kiwi is now the symbol of the New Zealand people. New Zealand is a self- government state. The Parliament consists of one House only, the House of Representatives. The Prime Minister is the head of the government There are several political parties in New Zealand. They are: the Labour Party, the National Party, the Party of Sotialist Unity and others. New Zealand is minerals. Country has heavy industry. There are many plants. The paper and rubber industries are developed too. New Zealand exported apples and honey. There are several educational and cultural institutions in Wellington. They are the University of New Zealand, Victoria University College and others. Victoria University was established in 1897.

Слайд 8

The Commonwealth of Australia The Commonwealth of Australia is a self-governing federal state. It has 6 states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and two internal territories. It is situated in the south-west part of the Pacific Ocean. The area of this country is 7,687,000 square kilometers. Australia is the largest island in the world and it is the smallest continent. In 1770 the English captain James Cook discovered the east coast of Australia. Nearly twenty million people live in Australia. The capital of the country is Canberra. The population of Canberra is about 300,000 people. The country is surrounded by the ocean. Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane are the country’s ports.

Слайд 9

Geography, culture and policy in Australia. Australia’s climate is dry and warm. Australia is situated in the southern hemisphere and that’s why they have their summer, when we have our winter and they have their winter, when we have our summer. It is interesting to know that January is the hottest month in Australia. Australia differs from other countries. The animals in Australia are very original, and interesting. There are many rivers and lakes in this country. Australia is an industrial country. It has coal, nickel, zinc and gold. There are several factories and plants in the country. Australia is one of the most important producers of metals and minerals. It exports wool products, fruit and sugar. There are two big industrial cities in Australia: Sydney and Melbourne. There are many universities, theatres and museums in Australia. There are several political parties in Australia: the Liberal Party, the Labor Party and the Socialist Party of Australia. Australia has the same head of state as the United Kingdom.

Завантажити презентацію

Презентації по предмету Англійська мова